Homemade Dishwasher Detergent

I’ve had this on my to do list for quite some time now, but today two things happened. #1: I finally found the citric acid I have been looking to find for weeks and #2: We totally ran out of detergent and needed to run the dishwasher.

List of ingredients: Kosher Salt, 20 Mule Team® Borax, Arm & Hammer® Super Washing Soda and Citric Acid. (Also pictured is vinegar for the rinse aid- Did you know you could use it instead of Jet Dry? It’s great and MUCH cheaper!)  I found all the ingredients at our grocery store except for the citric acid. That I found at the local health food stores, although it is sold online and you could also substitute lemon kool-aid packets or some say just do without.

Directions: Mix 1/2 cup Borax, 1/2 cup Washing Soda, 1/4 cup kosher salt, and 1/4 cup citric acid. Shake it up and use 1 T for every load. The savings are noteworthy coming it at $.05 a load! I’ve researched out there and felt that the addition of citric acid was pretty important to avoid cloudy dishes.

One site that was particularly helpful in the venture was diynatural.com. Find their article and cost breakdown here! Quite inspiring. Next comes laundry soap!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Homemade Dishwasher Detergent

  1. Yes! I will try this. Most of the “natural” detergents have not worked well for me. I ran out of detergent and used a tablespoon of Mrs Meyers concentrated and it really worked well… Good for a back-up.

Leave a Reply

